Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Sure fly magneto

Sure fly magneto 2 days 16 hours ago #1703

Hi Jose. I’m not mad. Just disappointed. Sure fly asked me if I wanted another one. As of today they still don’t know what went wrong. They did find an abnormality in it.
I agree on the electronic reliability of firing a spark plug. I would not like a car with a distributor cap like my 1946 Willy’s.
I’ve been flying since 1980 and have never had a magneto miss in the 4 certified planes I have owned.
I do like the idea. My plane started better. I’m still waiting for a final report. Seems scary they can’t go right to the problem.
I’m not the only one who has had a problem.
Tanks for the wisdom. I’ll continue to swim near the ground.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Sure fly magneto 2 days 16 hours ago #1702

• Steve Rhode
  • Subscriber
  • Thank you received: 1
Richard,

I'm sure sorry you had those issues with your magneto. I would hate to sour anyone off of an electronic ignition so let me share my story.

Jose, I guess this is more for you.

I have a 182P with a PPONK and installed an www.electroair.net/ Electroair certified electronic ignition system (EIS) in place of one of my Slick magnetos.

There is a difference between the Sure Fly and Electroair. While they are both EI systems I can tell you the Electroair has provided me with a noticeable lower fuel burn, better high altitude performance, and MP adjustable timing. I'm not sure I could say it makes me go any faster or not.